I have always had good experiences when speaking with reception staff and the GPs. They are courteous, kind and I have never had a problem being able to get an appointment when required.
I have been trying since early September to get the 3rd covid vaccination (not the booster) for immunocompromised patients, recommended by the JCVI on the 2nd Sept, to bring me up to the same level of protection as everyone else. Many phone calls, emails and e-messaging have unfortunately not achieved anything. 119 said the GP has to refer me, A letter from my consultant was sent to the surgery on the 12th October asking them to refer me to a vaccination hub asap. Do not understand the surgery's reluctance to refer me.
Reply from St Stephen's Gate Medical Practice
Dear Jennie
We corresponded extensively about this and we explained that the local Norwich arrangements meant we were not in a position to provide any vaccine to any eligible patient at the time.
You had your relevant dose the day after this complaint as soon as were able to arrange it.
Told to go to A&E
4
Submitted by Sue Spooner13th October 2021
Usually the service from Newmarket Road and St Stephen's Gate is excellent, but recently I wanted to make an appointment with my GP but there were no dates available online. I was walking past the popped in to see if it might be possible to make an appoint. I was told no. I then said 'what happens if I'm ill?' the receptionist said 'you can go to A&E!' This is appalling as we know how stretched the hospitals are and it is not appropriate to go to A&E unless it really is an emergency. There must be a better system surely?
Reply from St Stephen's Gate Medical Practice
Thank you. General Practice is not emergency or accident service. That is what A&E is for.
If you need to be seen on the day you will be but we do not offer a walk-up service. That is provided by the walk in centre on Rouen Road.
Thank you
What’s the point of being vaccinated?
2
Submitted by Amy Waters 11th October 2021
I am appalled at the lengths we have to go to to see anyone. We have to wear a mask, answer questions and have our temperature taken. All pre- vaccine requirements.
All of this is once we have actually successful made an appointment.
You are dealing with people who are, presumably, ill and quite possibly older who may not have access to the internet yet you continually make it so difficult for us.
Your surgery used to be so accommodating and easy to deal with. I get there is COVID and I get people can still get it once vaccinated but you are not following guidelines. Maybe if we just showed proof of being vaccined??
When will you be returning g to the wonderful face to face service you used to have?
Reply from St Stephen's Gate Medical Practice
All health centres are under national infection control guidance. We are not post-pandemic. Nationally, cases are above 50,000 and vulnerable people require boosters. Infection control processes will continue.
I don\'t recognise the comments about not following guidance. This is exactly what we are doing.
We provided 75,000 face to face to appointments in the last year and 35,000 on the day out of a total of 120,000. We offered 13% more appointments than two years ago. Your issues of access I regret are to do with the demand we are facing.
A Great Practice
5
Submitted by Anonymous2nd October 2021
I've needed help from the GPs several times over the last year. They have always been responsive, compasionate and willing to help despite the huge pressures they have been under over the last few years. I am very grateful for their care.
I realise that it is a difficult time for the surgery but I have twice asked on line questions about my chronic leukaemia and have not got answers on line let alone spoken to anyone but the receptionist. It is not her fault she is not a medical expert but why can't a GP ring me back? It is very frustrating and I have been a patient Newmarket Road Surgery for 30 years and the doctors there were wonderful . Feel very forgotten.
Reply from St Stephen's Gate Medical Practice
Send me details and I will look into it.
James Foster, Executive Manager
Not easy to make contact
1
Submitted by Justin2nd September 2021
My neighbour who is 87 years old has been trying to get through to someone at this practise and is at the moment still on hold, she doesn’t have access to the internet and your auto attendant messages don’t help and now she is sitting there waiting to speak to a highly trained operator who isn’t answering the phone, it’s been about 20 minutes already and still listening to on hold music. This practice is not user friendly for older people who actually needs to speak to someone and not listen to your automated robot messages, you should try and do better!
Reply from St Stephen's Gate Medical Practice
Our median wait is eight minutes, We have doubled the number of receptionists in the last two years and urge people to use the website for non-urgent matters.
Unfortunately this is a reflection of the demand the surgery is facing.
Secretary very rude
1
Submitted by catalina gheorghe27th August 2021
I called the medical practice when Council decided to cut trees on Union Street and my children where having breakfast.i was asked to speak bit louder cause she was not able to hear me properly,which i did.I called to asked why on my medical record shows a cancer screen test and a scan...and she said that after she asked another secretary what to do,they decided to not put me through with a Gp which can explain me why now i am suspected for cancer or at least to give me more info.she said i talked to loud,she will noy give me her name and she hang up.
I have been requesting doctors appointment for months but everytime I request it via their extremely useless web interface they reply back with a message to re-contact them after few days. Moreover, the message disappears after I read it so completely useless their too.
This is extremely frustrating as they are the only ones who can book the appointment. I can appreciate the staffing issue during covid but the appointment booking service is appalling.
It will be good if appointments can be booked from NHS app or even phone call as it was possible to do so many months ago.
Reply from St Stephen's Gate Medical Practice
More than 120,000 appointments were booked in the last year so the system itself works. Contact me and I can investigate what has gone wrong in this instance.
Thank you
James Foster, Executive Manager
negative notices
3
Submitted by bishop17th August 2021
At the request of the surgery I attended for a blood test today. The clinical side of things was very efficient but someone needs to reconsider the number of negative notices which greet patients at the door. 'You MUST wear a mask', 'do not lean on the counter at reception', 'Abuse will not be tolerated'. check in screen 'OUT OF USE',
'NO specimens after 12.30',
I have been a patient at St Stephensgate Surgery for nearly 14 years and have always felt welcome and reassured. Not this time. Obviously the current situation makes it necessary to introduce some measures in a clinical environment but I felt bullied and stressed. The odd 'please' and 'welcome' would not go amiss especially as more vulnerable patients are already apprehensive.