I had a fantastic appointment with my doctor today. Explained everything clearly. A real credit to the practice. This doctor needs to become a permanent fixture
Reply from Watton Medical Practice
Dear Patient
Thank you for your positive feedback. It's always lovely to hear when things have gone well.
We will share this with the team.
Many thanks
Watton Medical Practice
Duty doctor refused to see my 3month old son
1
Submitted by Anonymous21st February 2024
Last Monday I put a form in for my son, no one got back to me. On Monday this week I brought my 3 month old son to be seen after putting a form in and still having to ring as no one had contacted me and my son was getting worse. I see Toby who was absolutely brilliant. Diagnosed my son with RSV infection, told me any concerns or if he deteriorates then to bring him straight back. Monday night I contact 111 for adviced who sent an ambulance and we were taken to hospital. On discharge from the hospital they said any other symptoms or deteriorating contact the gp. I did this today (on Wednesday morning) after putting a form in and again having to phone and was told by the receptionist that the duty doctor was refusing to see him as he already had a diagnosis and refused to talk to me for advice. I took him straight to a&e as I knew it wasn’t just the virus. They confirmed he also has very bad croup and needed steroids. I am absolutely disgusted with the care we received today and being made to feel the way I did.
Reply from Watton Medical Practice
Dear Patient
Thank you for your feedback.
We\'re very sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction with the service you have received from Watton Medical Practice.
Please be assured that we take all feedback very seriously. Our telephone calls are recorded for training and quality purposes so we can investigate this further for you. We would be grateful if you could kindly contact us at your convenience to discuss this further.
Many thanks
Watton Medical Practice
Outrageous and unacceptable
1
Submitted by Anonymous30th January 2024
Contacted for a help 8:40 and got the answer 13:20 that no space for appointment, please contact tomorrow 8:30 for appointment.
Reply from Watton Medical Practice
Dear Patient
Thank you for your feedback.
We're very sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction with the service you have received from Watton Medical Practice.
We do our best to provide patients with an appointment for their need on the day they contact us, however depending on demand and capacity, we unfortunately cannot always guarantee this.
We welcome all feedback, which gives us the opportunity to look into the services we provide and where appropriate goes towards future choices and decisions made to improve the services we provide for our patients.
If you would like us to discuss this with us, please contact the surgery and ask to speak to the Patient Services Manager.
Many thanks
Watton Medical Practice
Unprofessional staff
2
Submitted by Anonymous3rd December 2023
After a telephone conversation with a Nurse Administrator (invitation for routine screening) I discovered said Administrator had made an inaccurate, unprofessional and incorrect entry in the patient notes. Specifically, it was alleged I had said something which I had not. When I queried the entry, the same Nurse Administrator telephoned me again, told me that the recording of the initial call had been listed to and reaffirmed that I had said what had been entered into the notes. I knew this was not true and asked to hear the recording, Nurse Administrator said the complaint would be passed to the relevant person. Turned out it was not. After further contact, this time with the Patient Services Manager, it transpired that the initial call had now been reviewed and indeed I had not said what was claimed. Not only was the entry false but the Nurse Administrator then lied to me regarding the reviewing of the call to try and cover up the inappropriate actions.
Apologies have been given and I sincerely hope lessons have been learned and in future only accurate and clinically relevant entries are entered into patient records.
Reply from Watton Medical Practice
Dear Patient
Thank you for your feedback.
We hope from our investigation and response letter sent to you, that you feel reassured that we have taken your concerns seriously.
Once again, we apologise for any distress caused.
Many Thanks
Watton Medical Practice
Urgent ECG
1
Submitted by Janice Staples29th November 2023
I had an appointment yesterday (28th Nov) at 8.40 for an urgent Ecg scan for a suspected heart failure, I arrived at 8.41 and tried three times to book in on the check in computer but would not allow me, I went to reception where the lady was typing on her computer, I stood in front of her for minutes when she ask me my name and date of birth, she then told me rudely that I was 8 minutes late and she may have to rebook me another appointment, I told her it was urgent but she said if the Nurse will not see me she will rebook it. I was scared and very anxious. The Nurse did see me and then a doctor who told me to go straight to Norwich Hospital A @ E as it was very serious. After a day having test I was immediately given heart tablets and blood thinners. How dare the receptionist treat me like that when I was beside myself with worry. An apology would be appreciated.
Reply from Watton Medical Practice
Dear Mrs Staples
Thank you for your feedback.
We're very sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction with the service you have received from Watton Medical Practice.
Thank you for taking the time to talk to me about your feedback and once again we apologise for any distress caused.
Many thanks
Watton Medical Practice
Atrocious service.
1
Submitted by Stephen eales20th November 2023
Cannot get through on the phone. When visiting the surgery get told to do it online. Sent a request to see a doctor online and get a reply telling me to come back tomorrow!
Reply from Watton Medical Practice
Dear Mr Eales
Thank you for your feedback.
We're very sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction with the service you have received from Watton Medical Practice.
We're sorry to hear you had difficulties getting through on the phone. The phone lines are open Monday -Thursday 8:30-6:00pm (Tuesdays we are closed 1:00pm-2:30pm for staff training) and Fridays 8:30am-4:30pm. During busy periods there may be queue, however we aim to answer the calls as quickly as we can.
We work very hard to get patients an appointment on the day they request it, however depending on the demand and clinical capacity, unfortunately there can be days that we reach full capacity and we do have to ask the patient to contact us on another day. When we have to do this, we also give the patient advice to contact another service, for example 111 or the walk in centre, if they do feel their symptoms have become more urgent and need to seek advice that day.
If you would like to discuss this further, please contact the practice and ask to speak to the Patient Services Manager.
Many thanks
Watton Medical Practice
Miss diagnosis
1
Submitted by Jade O\'Brien 16th November 2023
I took my 2 year old son in as his temp had spiked. The doctor took a look and confirmed an ear infection and prescribed antibiotics. As my son was being sick, the doctor advised if he could not keep the antibiotics down to head straight to A&E as the infection could spread and be more serious.
Later that evening, my son could not keep the antibiotics down, so we headed straight to A&E. After a long wait, the consultant confirmed my son does not have an ear infection and just a very bad viral infection and to head home and give fluids.
Reply from Watton Medical Practice
Dear Mrs O'brien
Thank you for your feedback.
We're very sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction with the service you have received from Watton Medical Practice.
A diagnosis is made on the basis of a patients history, symptoms and examination. The Clinician will act on the findings at that time and put a treatment plan in place. Advice is also given if the symptoms worsen or the patient/carer/parent has concerns. We are sorry to hear your son had to A&E and we hope he is feeling better now.
If you would like to discuss this further, please contact the practice and ask to speak to the Patient Services Manager.
Many thanks
Watton Medical Practice
Diabetic annual review
1
Submitted by Neil Rowe11th November 2023
For the past few years my annual diabetic review has included having a blood test, weight check, height check and foot check. This latest review, with a new person (don't know there qualifications) there were none of these checks, just a very quick conversation then out the door as quick as possible. This does not give me confidence that my condition is being properly checked.
Reply from Watton Medical Practice
Dear Mr Rowe
Thank you for your feedback.
We're very sorry to hear of your dissatisfactions with the service you have received from Watton Medical Practice in relation to your diabetic management. .
Thank you for taking the time to talk to me about your feedback. Once again I'm sorry for any confusion caused and I hope you now have reassurance your condition is being properly checked.
Many thanks
Watton Medical Practice
Covid jab
5
Submitted by Anonymous29th October 2023
Very impressed with friendly efficiency on Saturday - in and out in 20 mins. jabs at 3 other centres and yesterday's visit was the best. Thank you.
Reply from Watton Medical Practice
Dear Patient
Thank you for leaving your feedback. It's always lovely to hear when things have gone well.
We will share this with the team.
Many thanks
Watton Medical Practice
flu jab
1
Submitted by Diane McCulloch8th October 2023
My husband is 75 and I am 68, why do we have to wait until December to book a flu jab? we will probably have it by then.
Reply from Watton Medical Practice
Dear Mrs McCulloch
Thank you for your feedback.
We're very sorry to hear you had difficulties with booking a flu vaccination.
Thank you for taking the time to talk to me about your feedback and I'm glad to hear your vaccinations are now booked.
Many thanks
Watton Medical Practice