Submitted by Collected by Healthwatch Norfolk staff26th April 2024
My appointment today was fine, the doctor's trying to work out what it is and I'm satisfied they're doing all they can. It's always difficult to book. I called yesterday at 8.30 on the dot and the message was that they're all taken. I booked today's on the internet. They do try, everybody is courteous and tried to be helpful.
The phone system is a mess, the hold music is hideous. The online messages are out of date and it takes me ages to navigate the website. I'm learning but older people who aren't computer literate haven't got a chance!
Submitted by Collected by Healthwatch Norfolk staff26th April 2024
I think they're very good, I've never had any problems. It takes lots of money to call up for an appointment, it costs a fortune when you're 35th in the queue. It would be easier to book in-person.
Submitted by Collected by Healthwatch Norfolk staff26th April 2024
My appointment was alright today with a doctor, I contacted online and got in today. They're good at everything, never had a problem. The only thing that could be better is if you could book online out of hours because it's difficult when you work.
Submitted by Collected by Healthwatch Norfolk staff26th April 2024
9/10 times you don't get an appointment either by phone or online. A few weeks ago I was fobbed off with a paramedic after already having had four courses of antibiotics. It wasn't resolved and I had to use the out of hours service. You never see the same GP so it erodes confidence as you have to go over things. I had a phone appointment a few days ago which was cancelled, I was told the doctor hadn't turned up and there was nobody else to see. It was urgent but I was told I could see someone in two day's time. This appointment did go ahead but it didn't help the situation as I was in serious pain.
I've been on some of my medication for around ten years and have never had a review. I've not asked for one but I will do.
Several months ago I put a prescription in on a Thursday for two items. When I went to the pharmacy there was only one item. I spoke to reception and the other one was on a separate prescription which hadn't been signed. When it finally got done on the Monday the pharmacy was closed so I couldn't get it!
I find it hard when you call here and people have lots of accents that are difficult to understand. The queue at the desk is constant as usually there's only one person on the desk.
I find it extremely hard to understand why this surgery is still allowed to proceed or operate. Looking at the feed back from those that have not received the help they needed, as to have i. It appears that the only reply from the surgery is the same wording, which appears to be a simple copy and paste from the monitor of the surgery. I think there is no doubt that this surgery is failing so many, they need to be held to account. this is why i am now writing to NHS complaints service to hopefully receive some answers to my many complaints made over many years.
Reply from Watton Medical Practice
Dear Patient
Thank you for your feedback. We’re very sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction with the service you have received from Watton Medical Practice. Please be assured that we take all feedback very seriously. As this is a public forum and due to patient confidentiality, we can only leave limited information. If the patient provides their name, we contact them directly to discuss their feedback further with them. If the feedback is left anonymously, we ask the patient to contact us if they would like to discuss it further. If necessary, the concerns raised are then investigated with the information provided. We’re sorry to hear that you have had reason to write to the NHS complaints service, if you would like to discuss your concerns with us, please contact the practice and ask to speak to the Patient Services Manager.
Thank you
Watton Medical Practice.
Hopeless system for appointments.
1
Submitted by Anonymous5th April 2024
Following a blood test which showed an iron level below the normal reference limit a repeat was scheduled some months later. In the meantime, another blood test requested by a different NHS service showed the same result and a letter from the clinician was sent to WMP recommending the prescribing of Iron tablets. The second (repeat) test also showed the same result. The repeat blood test result was marked as reviewed by a GP. Subsequently, I received a phone call from a clerical staff member informing me that the patient needed to 'speak to a doctor' and asked if I would like a telephone call or face to face appointment. I was bemused since it was not clear what format the appointment would consist of and I was left assuming that a physical examination was not required, so opted for the telephone option. The date given was over 3 weeks away! I asked when would the face to face be and that was even further away! The only other option to resolve the matter sooner is for me to call or attend the surgery (or submit an online form) on the next working day (now a Monday) and TRY to get an 'on the day appointment'. As referenced elswhere in other reviews here, this is somewhat of a lottery and always seems to cause extra stress and anxiety. Is it really beyond the wit of the practice management to devise a better system for providing the necessary care and treatment without stressing the patient further?
Reply from Watton Medical Practice
Dear Patient
Thank you for your feedback. We're very sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction with the service you have received from Watton Medical Practice. Please be assured that we take all feedback seriously. For blood test results, we have routine follow up appointments available. These are telephone appointments, but if a patient would prefer to discuss their results face to face, we are able to accommodate this. Blood test results are booked in a routine appointment, if however, the clinician feels it’s more urgent, they will ask for the patient to be booked in sooner. If the patient feels they need to speak to a clinician sooner than the appointment booked due to worsening symptoms etc, we advise they can contact the practice for an on the day appointment. Patients can do this via our website from 8am or they can telephone the Practice from 8:30am Monday-Friday. We always do our best to provide patients with an appointment on the day they request it, however depending on demand and capacity, we unfortunately cannot always guarantee this. If you would like to discuss this further, please contact the practice and ask to speak to the patient services manager.
Thank you
Watton Medical Practice
paramedic refused to speak to me
1
Submitted by Robert Pears3rd April 2024
On 18th March I telephoned the surgery asking to see a doctor. I explained I had a facial skin cancer and thought I had a chest infection as I had a bad cough. I was given an appointment for 10.05. I saw a paramedic and he prescribed cream for my skin problem. I then told him about my bad cough and that I had passed out through a prolonged bout of coughing. He said he couldn't discuss it as I only had an appointment for one symtum. I told him I told the receptionist I had a serious cough as well but he said he could only discuss one subject and just refused to speak to me. I said your receptionist made a mistake and I was quite ill. He said I need to make another appointment as he can't discuss the matter. Two days later I blacked out at home and called an ambulance. I had a lung infection and low oxygen levels I was in hospital for four days on a antibiotic drip and oral antibiotics. Never mind the receptionist wasn't good at her job the paramedic also wasn't good at his job but he showed no compassion and NO duty of care. I am now taking this case to the GMC and CQC. I thought I was going to die and the paramedic couldn't care less.
Reply from Watton Medical Practice
Dear Mr Pears,
Thank you for your feedback. We take all feedback very seriously and we're sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction with the service you have received from Watton Medical Practice in regards to your consultation on the 18 March. Please be assured the concerns you have raised will be investigated further, and following this we will make contact with you.
Many thanks
Watton Medical Practice
Duty of Care ?
1
Submitted by Anonymous5th March 2024
March 1st, I was told to go to A&E for urgent blood test, I did not feel well enough to sit for hours there, so phoned on Monday 4th for a Surgery blood test. Dr off sick, so no response, phoned today 5th to see why I had not had the 1 working day response time as stated on their site. Receptionist was not helpful at all and ended up giving me attitude when i asked how i could get a Dr that was not off sick to generate the blood request that was needed on the 1st. URGENTLY according to the now Off sick Dr. Is there such a thing as duty of care practised here, if I needed an urgent test on the 1st, surely i need it still ?, or am I to be punished for not being able to face A&E on a late Friday pm for a blood test, I am extremely upset by the attitude of this person who attacked my questions with attitude of her own. perhaps the patients should have their own sign saying verbal abuse will not be tolerated.
Reply from Watton Medical Practice
Dear Patient
Thank you for your feedback.
We're very sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction with the service you have received from Watton Medical Practice.
Please be assured that we take all feedback very seriously. Our telephone calls are recorded for training and quality purposes so we can investigate this further for you. We would be grateful if you could kindly contact us at your convenience to discuss this further.
Many thanks
Watton Medical Practice
Response from surgery
1
Submitted by Anonymous27th February 2024
I submitted an online query with information - at just gone 8am, otherwise nothing is accepted - and did receive a phone call but could not reach the phone in time. The upshot is that my submission has been deleted and I need to resubmit again tomorrow. Apparently I had an "appointment" - no I did not. An appointment is an agreed time/place for a discussion, not an open-ended expectation such that you are expected to take the phone in to the toilet with you to be there for the 20 seconds when your call comes in. I now have to do this again tomorrow. This is not good enough.
Reply from Watton Medical Practice
Dear Patient
Thank you for your feedback.
We're very sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction with the service you have received from Watton Medical Practice.
We would like to look into this further for you and would be grateful if you could contact us at your convenience to provide us with further details.
Many thanks
Watton Medical Practice